Why I (still) love macro photography

Occasionally I get pictures like these that reminds me of the reason I keep shooting.

I may not be a magazine-grade photographer, but I do enjoy my macro photography. It isn’t a glamorous genre; none are shot in ballrooms or studios. Much is done under the elements and requires immense patience and perseverance. You also get a good workout out of hauling around your equipment; it is like lifting free weights, when you bend, crouch, or lift your camera up. This is exactly why I feel an healthy dose of satisfaction when I get good keepers; the hard work is worth it.

2 years ago I picked up my first camera after setting a photography resolution, although this doesn’t apply solely to macro photography. Well I had gotten myself a semi auto Ixus 300hs, and I was pretty blown away by the details a small camera could produce. I must say it was pretty addictive, as I found myself trading it away in favor of my current dSLR that I use.

I have no inkling of when I had picked up the interest in the very small; perhaps it has to do with my fundamental outlook of life. Perhaps I had to justify shelling out money for a dedicated macro lens. I was pretty in awe of the diverse array of miniature life through these lens, that would have looked ordinary from our naked eye perspective. The addition of a few stripes, a new color variant, an extra appendage, mind boggling mimicry. I believe in the evolutionary order of things. No, I’m not keen to start a science vs theology war over here, but lets just say these are beautiful, no matter the school of thoughts that govern the process.

Not a big fan of Live View, but I would have never gotten this picture otherwise.

Pretty high up for a snail.

Strange B&W preference for insect-life.

The exact same wasp as per the header photo.

Jumping spider, jittery as always.

A very small spiny orb spider.

Never short of these!

Love the colors on this jumping spider.

Blue metallic beetle, looking like jewels ancient pharaohs would keep.

On a best effort basis! It’s pretty hard capturing bees in flight.

Plant/leaf hoppers look darn comical.

Managed to find one at rest.

I felt compelled to do an extreme crop to highlight the sheer intricacy of it’s exoskeleton patterns. Look at the blue veins! Probably the best looking roach-like critter so far.

First butterfly, up close. I actually prefer them at a distance.

These pictures are a bonus; today was a day out with my grandmum. She enjoys feeding fishes, so there we were at the Botanic Gardens. I wonder what would I be pursuing, at that ripe old age.

6 thoughts on “Why I (still) love macro photography

Leave a Reply

