Running, 2012

nike race 2012-2

On this rare personal note.

The truth is, I almost hung up my running shoes due to what I would describe as a significant life event at around the start of 2012. Also, I had just started work and was actually dreading grappling running and working London hours.

Eventually I got to it…in painfully small starts. After knocking off, I would head back home and start my run at about 3am. It was probably about 2-3 times a week, and I started off with about 5km initially.  My body was flat out tired and refused to kick into gear in the wee hours of the morning. After half a year, the furthest I’ve went on a run was 8km.

It was tough, but I realized I wouldn’t be able to give this up. Not yet. Signing up for my 5th marathon was a huge impetus. After shifting to APAC hours, I had the benefit of joining some of the company’s peeps for some distance which really helped. I don’t believe I would ever be able to best the running highs of 2011; there simply are time constraints. 2012 became the year of mitigating expectations. There were zero warm ups, zero intervals. Mostly tempo runs in the 2nd part of the year. There were many days which I wished I dropped off the running radar, and I did. Then there were days I hoisted myself to a trail for 11km in the 2pm sun, with equally crazy guys giving me the thumbs up.

I finished the year end marathon slower than the previous as expected, which probably wasn’t a bad thing. Gone were the cramps (managed to stave it off just that wee bit). Slower I may be, but I have the feeling I’ve matured mentally a little as a runner.

Eventually I hope to finish a race in the VFFs (Vibram Five Fingers); they’ve gotten me really fascinated. I’m a proponent of barefooted running and I enjoy the connection and feedback with the ground. It feels only natural. It’ll be interesting to see where 2013 takes me in running.

Leave a Reply

