Venus Drive February 2013

After persistent showers in the afternoons for the whole week, I had decided that the sensible thing to do was to head there in the mornings. I had my long pants that day, in an attempt to stave off mosquitoes. Arriving late meant that the day was heating up, but still, I got about to shooting what I could find.

Morning dew drops.

IMG_7884

Always around, with its deep brown eyes.

IMG_7885 IMG_7886

Missed a shot of this hoverfly in flight by just that much. Eventually it settled down for a bit.

IMG_7888

In some grand poise.

IMG_7892

Not likely to mess with this wasp.

IMG_7906 IMG_7905

A collection of ever colorful dragonflies.

IMG_7887 IMG_7908 IMG_7982

It was dangling down with its long legs before scurrying for cover.

IMG_7910

I realized it was dead. However I absolutely did not realize that there was a spider behind! Little luck for the crane fly.

IMG_7918

Ant mimic spider.

IMG_7928

Pretty common beetle, I think.

IMG_7962

Jumping spider with breakfast. I ramped up my flash to shine through the leaf initially.

IMG_7943 IMG_7945

The highlight of the day: a Cicada. My heart sank when it flew away as I got about into position. To my delight it relocated to a slightly higher spot, well within reach. I never knew that it was a mix of reds, greens, blues, and golden yellow.

IMG_7967 IMG_7966 IMG_7971 IMG_7972

What in the zeus?

IMG_7983

IMG_7973

Another weird colorful critter.

IMG_7997 IMG_8010

An extremely tiny spider, with breakfast of course.

IMG_8021

Would not look out of place in Godzilla.

IMG_8032

Hurrying along the hand rails.

IMG_8045

Weird!

IMG_8053

So there you have it, some highlights from a morning of hard work. I still regret not making enough effort to identify the species in the photograph; instead I’m labeling it as that spider, or that fly. Hopefully that’s something I could address in time to come.

Leave a Reply

